Our Department

By the Numbers

  • 20 faculty
  • 60 graduate students
  • 220 undergraduate majors (B.A. in Anthropology and B.S. in Anthropological Sciences)
  • 5 summer field schools in forensic science, bioarchaeology, and archaeology involving 70 students annually
  • 11 research laboratories in archaeology, bioarchaeology, human biology, and ethnography, providing undergraduate and graduate student internships and other learning opportunities
  • Research funding in support of undergraduate, graduate, and faculty field- and lab-based research in North America, South America, Europe, Asia, and Africa
  • 99% success rate in placing our graduates in Ph.D.-appropriate positions; 73% college/university placement.

Our Facilities

Our facilities include a numerous laboratories for research and teaching in archaeology, physical anthropology, and ethnographic research, accommodating the needs of a wide range of research interests, including plant, animal, human remains, and fossils from archaeological and paleontological settings to living people and primates.

Our Commitment to Diversity

The Department of Anthropology is committed to the promotion of social, cultural, gender, sexual orientation, and ethnic diversity among its faculty, staff, and students. As part of this agenda, we are committed to promoting not only traditional aspects of diversity, but also pedagogical diversity and to enhance the role of anthropology in encouraging diversity within the College of Arts and Sciences, Ohio State University, and the broader community of the State of Ohio.

Professional Service

Anthropologists at the Ohio State University currently serve or have recently served on:

  • Editorial boards of major journals - American Journal of Physical Anthropology (Samuel Stout, Scott McGraw, Debbie Guatelli-Steinberg, Clark Larsen (Editor-in-Chief); Journal of Human Evolution (Scott McGraw, Debbie Guatelli-Steinberg), American Journal of Human Biology (Crews)
  • National Science Foundation panels - Biological Anthropology Program (McGraw, Piperata); Cultural Anthropology Doctoral Dissertation Improvement (Cohen, Moritz); Dynamics of Coupled Human and Natural Systems (Moritz); Committee of Visitors (Larsen)
  • Leadership in major national societies and associations - President of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists (Larsen); President of the Dental Anthropology Association (Guatelli-Steinberg); President of the Society for Economic Anthropology (Cohen); Chair, Section on Anthropology, American Association for the Advancement of Science (Larsen)

Faculty and Staff Awards

  • Ohio State University Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching (Guatelli-Steinberg, McGraw)
  • College of Social and Behavioral Sciences Joan Huber Fellowship Award (Sciulli, Guatelli-Steinberg, McGraw)
  • College of Arts and Sciences Harlan Hatcher Award (Sciulli)
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (Larsen, McKee, Stout)
  • Gabriel W. Lasker Distinguished Service Award, American Association of Physical Anthropologists (Larsen)
  • Michael A. Little Early Career Award, Human Biology Association (Piperata)
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award (Cohen, Moritz)
  • National Science Foundation Research Grants (Cohen, Cook, Field, Gremillion, Guatelli-Steinberg, Hubbe, Kitchen, Larsen, McCorriston, McGraw, McKee, Moritz, Yerkes)
  • National Geographic Society (Larsen, McCorriston, Cohen, Moritz)
  • Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study residential fellow (Moritz) 
  • Wenner Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research (Willow)
  • American Institute for Yemeni Studies (McCorriston)
  • Fellow in the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (Stout)
  • Ohio State University Distinguished Staff Award (Whipple, Sweasey)
  • Ohio State University Distinguished Undergraduate Research Mentor Award (Yerkes)