Annual Student Awards

The undergraduate and graduate students within the Department of Anthropology are amazing researchers and teachers.  We identify and congratulate our best with the following awards:  Best Ph.D. Thesis, Best M.A. Thesis, Best Undergraduate Writing, Best Undergraduate, and Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching.  These awards are selected annually by nominations from faculty and undergraduate students, and the awards are announced at the annual department picnic every spring. Listed below are previous awardees:

Best Undergraduate

2008-2009 Francisco Montiel Ishino
2009-2010 Amy Eakins
2010-2011 Jacqueline Lipphardt
2011-2012 Kimberly Swisher
2013-2014 Gwendolyn Donley
2014-2015 Gwendolyn Donley
2015-2016 Madelyn Green
2016-2017 Catherin Mendel and Gretchen Klingler (co-award)

Best Undergraduate Writing

2009-2010 Aexandria Alfarano
2010-2011 Kristen DiPietro
2011-2012 Jacqueline Lipphardt
2012-2013 Melissa Clark
2013-2014 Melissa French
2014-2015 Emily Schueller
2015-2016 Daniel Hanel
2016-2017 Daniel Hanel

Best MA Thesis

2007-2008 Laurie Reitsema
2010-2011 Nidia Merino-Chavez
2011-2012 Lisa Beiswenger
2012-2013 Barbara Betz
2013-2014 Mary Beth Cole
2014-2015 Sharon Buck
2015-2016 Julie Margolis
2016-2017 Mackie O'Hara

Best Ph.D. Thesis

2009-2010 Marin Pilloud
2010-2011 Daniel Tyree
2011-2012 Amelia Hubbard
2012-2013 Corey Maggiano and Laurie Reitsema
2013-2014 Leslie Williams
2014-2015 Tim Gocha
2015-2016 Zachariah Hubbell
2016-2017 Aaron Comstock 

Outstanding Graduate Student Teacher

2001-2002 Tori Seneda
2002-2003 Shahna Arps
2002-2003 Lexine Trask
2003-2004 Alyson Young
2004-2005 Jonathan Racster
2005-2006  Erin Tyler
2006-2007 Jules Angel
2007-2008 Giuseppe Vercellotti
2008-2009 Jennifer Spence
2009-2010 Corey Maggiano
2010-2011 Laurie Reitsema
2011-2012 Amelia Hubbard
2012-2013 Adam Kolatorowicz
2013-2014 Marissa Stewart
2014-2015 Lisa Beiswenger
2015-2016 Ashley Edes
2016-2017 Erin Blanken-ship Sefczek and Timothy Sefczek (co-award)